Add Horsepower & Torque, suggestions?

CSVT30

Established Member
Have a used one owner [older guy] Cobra recently purchased, bone stock [one reason I bought it]. Want to increase horsepower & torque. I’m sort of new to 4v engines, my background is 2v, mostly GM [yeah, I know, but one can enjoy both, right?].

It likes to rev and when on cam goes pretty good. Even the Ford shifter seems decent, haven’t missed third yet. Motor is straight, very, very quiet at idle, just exhaust burble, naturally aspirated, all stock.

Not interested in turbo or super charging, don't like the "whine" even though obviously helps in getting more air into the "pumper." Also don't like effects on exhaust note.

Sidebar: There's a number of things I want to do to it, but must start somewhere. Also going to order a Steeda shifter, does it add too much noise, since metal to metal is in play?

Suggestions welcomed . . .

bouncer18

Established Member
there is a little bit more tranny noise with an aftermarket shifter.... i dont think its too terribly bad but thats my ear and not yours..

most guys you see with Cobras start off with Exhaust.. its a great way to boost #'s without breaking the bank..

check around the site.. alot of people have Mod Lists w/ there gains and such...

IUP99snake

The Shocker
Established Member
there are more and more options every day...

Now, there are different intakes/cams/throttle body's and a bunch of other stufff for the 4.6 4v.

Ford racing makes a magnesium intake that you can get with injectors/computer and other accessories for 2300 bucks.. ( i know, i know.. its still expensive)
you can get the bare intake for like 1800.

you can also get cams for the 4V, with cam kits starting around 900 bucks. (remember, you've got 3 more cams than that old GM)

throttle bodies, mass air meters, cold air kits/power pipes, Port& polish, the list goes on and on, even without the blower.