Amsoil Type Recommendation

El Jeffe

Established Member
Just got back from one of the big car shows at Carlisle PA and while there had a chance to talk to some Amsoil guys at there booth there about what type/grade of their oils their experts recommend for the newer Boss 302 engines. Was kind of surprised to hear them say the new Full SAPS European Car Formula was their first recommendation (Black Label) and the same type in Mid SAPS (Red Label) as their secondary choice!
Im not a petrochemical engineer so IM not so sure what all the importance is of this SAPS talk, but just seemed odd the Boss would get the European blend rec vs all their other fine oils. Weight recommended by the way was 5W40.
Friend of mine with a Boss used Castrol 0-50 Syntec and he said its working good. Getting ready for my first oil change at 1000 miles for my Grabber Blue '13 and was interested in comments from some of our "in the know guys" here on this forum. Appreciate any comments on the Amsoil rec and anyone else using the Castol 0-50W.

El Jeffe

Ochoblanco

Established Member
I just used the specified Motorcraft 5-50. Greg, Amsoil rep on another forum, suggested I look into 10-40 Sig series.

86Fbody

Established Member
If anything I would ask the guys who race their Bosses, maybe Kenny Brown, and see what they use.

Blackmagic1

Established Member
See "Unleashed Beast " oil write-ups ,especially Amsoil. He's printed TONS of posts of oil recommendations.I'm using Amsoils 10w30 Signature oil in my 2013 Track Pack GT. Not one complaint on anything,especially with our 110 115+ temps out here.

Tyler72

Established Member
Signature Series 10w-30 here with an Amsoil filter too.

I based my choice off of research... Look at the UOA thread on here & look at Bob's The Oil Guy & see what people are saying. UOA are great at picking out an oil, and from what I determined, the SS 10w-30 seemed like the best for my application. If I open tracked it on a regular basis I would use SS 10w-40.