Another Oil question

KHsonic03

Established Member
I did a search, and found many results. So many that I can't find what I am looking for. Sorry if this is a repeat question. I have seen alot about Mobil 1 filters, but I have been using K&N for the past 3 years, and was wondering which is better. I am also doing my first oil change (1000 miles), and want to know which oil to use. FMS or other non-syn brand? Thanks.

KenCobra03

Factory Rated 390 HP, much more now
Established Member
I also use the Ford 820S oil filter.
One on at 0,500,and 1,000 miles so far.

Cobra'03

Established Member
Mobil 1 are far better - they use a glass/synthetic fiber media which is much stronger and filters better than the K&N.

OCCOBRA

Picture Whirled Peas
Established Member
820-s motorcraft
Ford 5w-20 will change to Mobil1 when the motor breaks in.

KiLLaBytE

Established Member
I use the Ford Motorcraft 820S oil filter along with Mobil 1 syntec 5W30 oil. First change was at 1500 mi. Next will be at 5K, then i'm going every 5K miles after that.

-Brian

KHsonic03

Established Member
Where can I get Mobil 1 oil filters???!!!! I checked two walmarts, pep boys, advanced auto. Where can I get one?!! thanks

missile man

Established Member
Another good choice is the Purolator Pure1 filter. It is readily available and doesn't have the cardboard guts. I use Royal Purple fully synthetic in everything including my Cobra. Have had no problems and have 80,000 miles on our Dodge Caravan and 170,000 miles on my Acura. Good Luck.

MalcolmV8

Established Member
Originally posted by missile man
Another good choice is the Purolator Pure1 filter.

From what I've read on the net (different oil filter studies) the Motorcraft filters are basically just rebadged Purolators.