any insight appreciated

95 thunder

Established Member
tried this over nloc also and looking for a little help and i know this has been beaten on alot somewhat...

hey guys, i have spent the last hour or more reading (search) and have learned alot, but have mixed feelings for sure and still kinda of confused like a fart in the wind...deal is, looking at a 00 lightning to purchase(i have a gen1), nice shape/good price, however, i am no big mechanic type and pretty green when it comes to the mods somewhat on these trucks...truck has 6lb lower pulley, high-flow intake, 90 mm MAF, NGK-6 spark plugs,stock other then that tuned by jdm/jersey, the guy selling has had this tune since 18k miles on the truck and has 70k on her now, been several years with no problems according to him, he tells me this is a safe tune, i kinda knew no better, but after reading and doing some homework here, i am really wondering if it is or has this truck did it's time and due maybe for ??, guy seems very straight up and older guy, that has not run at track every weekend or beat on it, and taken care of truck, but bottom line i am confused, in my readings, i think it is fair to say "its all about the tune" and some say no problems or worrys and other's kinda say different with thes setup and could be potential issues and on the edge a bit, i know no one has a crystal ball here, but i am looking for no worry's and a weekend type truck with no headaches/dependable hopefully, should i run to it guys or run from it? any kind of insight would be much appreciated if possible....by the way the price is 10k , i really like the truck and it's in my price range and been looking at several that is higher that is not as nice....thanks in advance

MJG

Established Member
If you were to buy a stock truck,you would MOD it eventually, so pick the one with the mods done previously.
If it is a JDM tune, one of the best in the business,but get it on a dyno to make sure all is well anyway.