Anybody switch out the fuel filter on their 99/01?

32ValveRom

Don't mess with Teksids
Established Member
I've never done this before so the other day I thought I'd give it a shot. Got under the car, located the filter and tried to disconnect the filter with the little plastic removal clip that I have. The damn thing wouldn't disconnect for anything in the world. :cuss: A friend told me to take it to the Jiffy Lube but I could've sworn I saw someone here say it wasn't too hard to do. Any tips?:shrug:

3B99SVT

Top down makes me smile
Established Member
I'm not sure if anyone said it wasn't too hard to do. It's a frustrating task for me since I could only use one hand and either I could see it or feel it -- not both. Did you relieve the fuel pressure already? I've heard of people getting sprayed in the face if there's still pressure in the lines, but I would think that the pressure would make it more difficult to use the disconnect tool too. I recommend relieving the pressure at the schraeder valve on the fuel rail (get a screw driver in position, cover w/a rag, press). Is the disconnect tool sliding in enough? IIRC, pushing the line into the fuel filter slightly will make it easier to get the tool in. Then when the disconnect tool is in all the way, pull the line out of the filter. Oh, and all this has to be done w/one hand unless you have small enough hands to work both through the IRS. And always wear proper PPE!

99COBRA2881

Piss on Fox Sports1
Established Member
A well placed shot of penetrating oil up in the ends of the fuel filter connectors always helps and then I use a twisting motion which seems to also help get the fuel lines to release.

I fought the fuel filter on my '04 explorer for longer than I have ever on an IRS mustang.

Black*Death

Sleeping
Established Member
It suxs..plain and simple...difficult access combined with the fuel lines are difficult to pop

off. I you get the tool in there...try rocking the tool back and forth vs just straight