Anyone had their tonsils removes?

carnut101

Established Member
Doc says I have enlarged cryptic tonsils. I'm going in for a tonsillectomy next month. Anybody has this done? It's my first time ever going under the knife. I've never broken a bone, gotten stitches, or anything. Kind of has me weirded out that someone's gonna be cutting stuff up in me while I'm knocked out.

Anyways, for those that have had this done, did you experience any side effects like a change in your voice or a loss in the ability to taste?

astrodudepsu

1of72 Hater
Established Member
i woke up too soon after surgery and threw up blood for a good 3 hours. then all i got to eat was luke warm jello, No ice cream! man was i pissed. i was only 9 at the time.

E

2008 SVTP RPS Champ
Established Member
mine were severly infected when i was like 5 with strep and they got taken out then. i remember it all but they say it's alot easier the younger you are. good buddy had it done a few years back and after he had a couple of weeks to heal up he said he felt alot better than when he had them. gl with the surgery man!:beer:

BuckChoklit

Schooled by Satan
Established Member
I had ear problems around the age of 10, I guess partly due to my tonsils. I had my tonsils and adenoids taken out as well as had some ear tubes put in. As soon as I woke up they gave me a popsicle, about 15 minutes after that I threw blood up.

About a week or so afterwards you can start eating solid foods, but its going to be sore. About 2-3 weeks after the surgery you'll start to cough and the back of your throat will start bleeding--this is normal though.

"olsson"

Established Member
I was 7 or 8 when i had mine removed, threw up some blood after surgerey thats all i remember :shrug:

BoostGhost

Established Member