• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

Autometer wiring harness too short!

Discussion in 'SVT Shelby GT500' started by rjm-1, Apr 10, 2014.

  1. rjm-1

    rjm-1 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    122
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Location:
    Wells, Me.
    I took the most direct route straight back from the fuel pressure sending unit to the firewall, then to the driver side and down into the rubber boot behind the wheel well. From there I cannot get enough slack to reach the SOS pillar pods or over to the center vents. The same with the oil pressure harness.

    I guess I will have to cut the harness, and splice sections in order to reach the gauges. Funny, I've not heard of anyone else having this problem. :shrug: Anybody else heard of this problem before?
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2014
  2. rjm-1

    rjm-1 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    122
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Location:
    Wells, Me.
    No one else has seen this?

     
  3. brandonflood123

    brandonflood123 Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,069
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    Location:
    texas
    ive never heard of the issue. worst case just extend the wires. solder and heat shrink together then wrap with electrical tape. also label your wires on what the orignal color is if you cant get the matching colors to extend. also they may sell a longer harness you can buy online.
     
  4. 54First

    54First Grouchy Old Guy Established Member

    Messages:
    562
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Location:
    Central Valley, CA
    It happens regularly. The only non-offenders I've seen are Innovate's wideband and AeroForce. They give you enough cable to hang yourself. You'ld think a couple of feet of extra cable would be a nice thought.

    Steve

    P.S. Gotta add Painless Performance to the good guys.
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2014
  5. rjm-1

    rjm-1 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    122
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Location:
    Wells, Me.
    Hey Steve, By tightening up the routing I just got enough to make it. You would think that a foot or two of extra wire wouldn't kill them!
    I saw you said you attached your Painless to the passenger side HVAC bracket, but I'll be damned if I can find that bracket or any place to attach it! Got a pinched disc in my back so getting under there is a chore right now. Thinking of just using a couple of add-a-fuse.
     

Share This Page