Bunch of NJ Tickets...

greenscobie86

Established Member
Hey All,

Need some advice on a stack of slips I got last night...

Here goes:

Speeding 30+ over the limit 5 pts (80mph in 50mph)
Careless Driving 2 pts
Racing on Highway 5 pts
Cracked windshield
Obstructed plate(A license plate frame :-/)

My first ever set of tickets ever, so I went out with a bang. All after being behind the wheel for 10 years.... And within the 3rd week of having 4.10's...

Luckily Im an NY resident so the points dont carry over, but I don't want my license suspended in NJ(I drive there every day) so I'm asking the forum what the best way to go is/strategy to possibly keep my license...

Would I be eligible for the one time 2 point reduction(since its my first offense) in order to bring the sum of points down? Any chance at a plea bargain?

I realize the basics(wear suit, be polite to the prosecutor etc...) and also that this being my first ever offense might work in my favor, but any help will be appreciated. A lawyer wants $850 to represent me with no guarantees so I think I might try to do this on my own, since it will be a crap-load of money already.

Thanks SVTP and before I put my flamesuit on, let me just say that the other dude was losing(and got the same tickets I was issued...)

Wow that cop nailed you pretty good chief. What part of NJ were you guys doing this? Rte 1 & 9? Turnpike? Parkway going towards the shore? You got flagged by a trooper or local pd?

Also $850 is a very good price to be represented for all these charges. Very unwise to handle this one by yourself. If it was a single citation, I'd say go for it, as you could end up with a pretty merciful prosecutor. But you better lawyer up for this.

DriRun

Established Member