Car Revs Up On Start Up???

HoustonGT

Established Member
Hey guys. My 01 Cobra does a weird thing, everytime i start the car it'll rev up to about 2400rpm's or so. nDoesn't stay there, just does it when i crank her over. Never really thought much of it, but lately i realized one thing.... The car is gettin LT's, an O/R X-Pipe, and SLP Loudmouth catback next week, meaning when i start it its gonna be insanely loud and everyone is gonna think im one of those retards that revs their car for no reason. Also, im sure the neighbors won't like me much at 6am LOL. What could it possibly be or is it just normal...I'm new to the SVT game but not Mustang, so not so sure. Thank In Advance,

Mike

MrBrain

Corner carver
Established Member
It's normal. Some people mean it's an "effect" made by Ford to make it sound scary..

99COBRADROPTOP

Established Member
Its normal, mine did it this morning and every time i start it ever since i bought the car. And for the neighbors, they'll just have to get used to it

Quadcammer

4cams aren't better then1
Established Member
normal.

ford wants oil to get the heads as fast as possible, and a bit of revs at startup was their solution. Probably not great for the bearings, but eh.

qwik01cobra

built,novi2k,T56,solid
Established Member
My Cobra also does this. Starting it at 6:00am every morning with long tubes, off-road H, and a MagnaFlow will wake up just about anyone. I feel bad for my neighbors....lol

srl135

Wreck 'em Tech!
Established Member
+1 to the car revving upon startup. I got acquainted with my neighbors real quick when they mentioned that they heard me everymorning around 6:30 start my car to back it out of the garage. It is pretty loud but I love it!

hus

SPDJNKY
Established Member