Car stereo gurus need help, sub/amp hookup

punchit

Established Member
Hello guys I'm trying to hook up my subs and amp and am having trouble and need some expertise as this is my first time.

Equipment:
Just a basic pioneer deck
Two 12's
http://m.bestbuy.com/m/e/product/detail.jsp?skuId=5700917&pid=1218682375383

And this amp
http://www.amazon.com/Planet-Audio-...365476454&sr=8-2&keywords=Planet+audio+2000.2

Now I've ran a 10 with a Rockford amp with the same wiring so ground is good but let me try to paint a picture for you.
Since there are two + and - on each sub the middle + and - are connected by wire on each sub

I run the +/-directly from sub to outlet on box then into each channel of the amp (2channel) so theoretically directly from sub to amp.

The amp appears to be working correctly as its brand new but I am wondering what do I have hooked up wrong. I've tried increasing the dials on the amp with no luck. Here are some pics for reference. Anyone have any suggestions? I must add that I've already try to bridge them to see if the gain in power would help with no luck. There is a very very small amount of vibration as I can't even hear it over my regular speakers

punchit

Established Member
ryrymuny.jpg

e5y4y3yg.jpg
uqu7apa5.jpg

redrocket16

Established Member
What OHM are the subs? Are you sure they are hooked up inside the box from the terminal on the box?

punchit

Established Member
I was told not to bridge them on the amp (meaning + from one channel to neg on other channel) because the jack on the actual sub is bridge in the middle, but I've tried it anyway with no luck. I will find another ground point and yes I've double checked everything else I.e in the box it self.

OrangeMachine

Established Member
Looks like you don't have a complete circuit. You have to wire both sides of the sub. There are numerous sites that diagram wiring dual voice coil subs. Google is your friend.

OrangeMachine

Established Member