Daily Driver Tires

blcoonrod

Established Member
Hi all, this is my first post here. Long time lurker and seems to be a intelligent crowd.

I have 13/14 Gt500 SVTPP take off wheels and tires on my 2014 GT. I have got a round 17K on them and the rears are getting pretty thin. I have been reading until my eyes are blurry about which tires I should choose. Currently I have 285-35-20 rears and 265-40-19 fronts. But due to limited selection in those sizes I am probably going to down size to a 275 and 255. Will I still get a decent rim guard with those sizes? And for the main question, what tires do yall recommend. I would like to keep the set under or around 1K. I don't do much racing of any type but I am a spirited driver. My first choice would be Michelin Pilot SS. But they are $400+ a tire. I have about made my mind up to go with Continental Extreme Contact DW. What is everyone's opinion on them? Or maybe I should ask what compares to them in the same price range. They run around $230 a tire.

mattaglover

2011 5.0
Established Member
I have had the michelin ss and the continental dw. The michelin was the better of the two. Today i had cooper rs3A the all season put on. They were just under 200 a tire and from first impressions seem to be a great daily driver spirited tire. Stiff side walls and alot of dry grip and should last a bit longer.

Last edited:

blcoonrod

Established Member
Yea I have considered those also. I believe they come factory on the roush packages. I also have a local shop that deals cooper that recommends them. How many miles did you get out of your Dw's?

08mojo

Established Member
I've always had good luck with Nitto 555. They come in a 285/30/20 and a 275/35/19.

Forgot to add: they're inexpensive and have a good wear rating (300).

Last edited:

blcoonrod

Established Member