Damn. Think I blew my clutch...

ComfortableLiar

Established Member
Well my '12 GT has slightly over 4,200 miles on it, so it's far from a DD. That said, when I drive it I DRIVE it. Car has only seen one drag strip pass but I've had my fair share of stoplight to stoplight launches for fun.

Last time I drove it I power shifted from 1-2-3 on a nice cool day just to blow out the cobwebs. After I came to the next light I noticed a slight shudder as I let out the clutch in 1st gear... Almost as if I was a rookie driver and nearly stalled the car. I wasn't sure what it was and was almost home so I parked the car for a couple days. Hopped in it yesterday to drive to the gym and again felt the same shudder in 1st and reverse. Had my dad hop in the driver's seat (oilfield mechanic for 30+ years) and right away he knew it was the pressure plate.

So... What should I do? Car has intake/tune and an MGW on it. Would be a real PITA to switch out the MGW for the factory shifter and take the car to the dealer. Then they might not even replace the factory clutch. Should I man up and get an aftermarket clutch/flywheel combo and call it a day? Thoughts and suggestions are appreciated.

/end rant.

Sent from the depths of hell using Tapatalk

TRDon

Established Member
If you takemt in the worst they can do is deny warranty. Why not at least try?

Nuar

Established Member
That blows man :/
I would just get an aftermarket clutch. Just think of it as another mod :p

Nuar

Established Member
Then again only 4200 miles. Might be worth bringing it to the dealership. I dont care how you drive, that clutch should be barely broken in.

gatty1303

Established Member
Not that this is very constructive, and it will not help your clutch, but you can't expect to be "powershifting" and not expect exponential wear on your clutch and transmission. Situation sucks but these things do break when not driven correctly. Go aftermarket and maybe it will last longer

blackbeast12

Dr. Frankenstang