Digital Camera Advice

supachargd2k5

Established Member
In the next month or two i am going to be purchasing a new digital camera for myself. Im not a professional photographer and dont plan on being one. I want something powerful and will be using it for everyday pics of misc stuff and cars. Im wanting to spend between $200-500, i just wanted some ideas from people who may know whats good before i spend my money on something. Thanks in advance.

I was looking at this one but i have never used it,
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/Pentaxa10/

TurdFerguson

Scumbag
Established Member
something similar to what you posted is the Sony DSC W100 which is the 8 megapixel version of the w30, w50 and w70. I bought the W50 and love it but i kinda wish now i went with the W100

Monolith

Shake Me Up
Established Member
In your price range, I'd go with the Canon A620. Street price is generally right around $280-300 and it offers 7mpx, the new DIGIC II processor and a very intuitive interface. It's what I will be replacing our Sony 5mpx with very soon.

Here's a review for it: http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canona620/

As much as I have enjoyed our Sony, I would recommend steering clear of them simply because of the proprietary Memory Stick format. The Canon (and most others) use compact flash (CF) cards which you can literally buy at the corner Walgreens in a pinch. Sony's Memory Stick is a little more difficult to find and often more expensive, so you have to think ahead about memory needs and of course pay more for it.

Hope that helps in some way.

supachargd2k5

Established Member
I appreciate the information, both canons sound good and i really like the idea of the a620 just because its not terribly expensive.

SoCalCobra

Intaker & 7.5" Pistons!
Established Member
Canon SD630