DIY Alignment

darreng505

Established Member
Anyone do their own alignment?
How?

Are there any good guides for adjusting camber plates? Its my first time trying.

Thanks for any tips

wheelhopper

Established Member
Darren, I have been doing most of my alignments the past couple of years. It wasn't hard, just took a little time and patience to learn and do. I did a lot of internet research and book reading to figure it out. Wish I could point you in one direction for the answers.

You'll need to get yourself some toe plates and some camber gauges. OG racing has both of them. You'll also need a couple tape measures and a nice level place to do the alignment.

MFE

Established Member
Easy peasy. And along the way you can take note of the strut's distance from the fender edge and translate that into degrees of camber, and then study and record and how much toe adjustment you have to make to compensate for the changes in camber. It really is quick and easy once you get the hang of it.

I write this before smartphones with anglefinder apps, or even decent cheap mechanical anglefinders. But you'll get the drift:

http://forums.corral.net/forums/handling/931155-how-do-your-own-alignments-low-cost-effective.html

Last edited:

darreng505

Established Member
Thanks boys. Will give it a shot.

For the camber plate adjustment do i just loosen the nuts on the strut top mount and move the strut. Tighten and remeasure? Repeat?

MFE

Established Member
Yes, but to do it right, you need the car at ride height, which can make the plates tricky to move. As for toe plates, pieces of newspaper between two floor tiles works great, but I prefer to just drive the car around the block, park it, and re-measure ;)

darreng505

Established Member
How do you move the camber plates then? With a screwdriver/pry bar?

I was surprised youtube has nothing on this matter, but I'll keep looking.

MFE

Established Member