Door Sill Color Change - For Dummies

Status
Not open for further replies.

iwannacobra5

Established Member
i've been wanting to contribute to the "how-to" section for a while since it's been a big help for me, so here we go....

there are a couple different threads on how to change your sill plate color on this site and on fordgt500.com. after just changing the sill color on my 2010, i've decided to make another thread that is a little easier to understand for complete newbies like me. from what i understand, i believe this can be done the same way on 07-13's. in fact, my 2010 was done the exact same way as the 2013. you DO NOT need to cut any wires. here are the tools you will need:

- 9v battery
- cheap wire (bought mine at a hardware store. speaker wire will work)
- needle (i used a syringe needle because my wife is a veterinarian, but you can use a sewing needle, safety pin, or even a paperclip).
- wire stripers

it is important to note that you DO NOT necessarily need to remove your door sill completely to make this change. i removed the first one i did, but chose not to completely remove the second one (i'll explain why later).

first, start out by stripping both ends of your wires. then tape one end of each wire to each of the 9v battery leads. see picture below.

20121103_171914_zpsd4fb0cc5.jpg