Downshifting to First

TemplateType

Established Member
When I first got this car, I was never able to get it into first above about 20mph. Then I read this from the 2013 Mustang owners manual:
Do not downshift into position 1 when your vehicle is moving faster
than 15 mph (24 km/h). This may damage the clutch or transmission.
I did not see any warnings like that in the GT500 supplement manual and I had read another user an this forum saying he had shifted to first doing about 30mph before, so I am wondering if it only applies to the other mustang transmissions. I have been noticing that double clutching makes it much easier to get down into any gear, so I gave it a try with first gear today at about 25mph and it went right in. So the question is: is it safe to down shift this tremec 6060 to first at speed? Is double clutching needed for it, or did I just need to wait longer for the synchros to match speeds? I am still pretty new to how all these parts work, so hopefully this is not an embarrassingly stupid question.

ThomasL

Established Member
The owners manual is garbage for these cars. It also recommends shifting into 5th at something absurd like 43mph. Since these cars reach over 60mph in 1st, I wouldn't think a downshift around 30 would be all that bad I just wouldn't do it often. I'm curious about this though as i've never really tried or had the need to make a down shift like that into 1st.

2011 gtcs

GT500 poster
Established Member
Premium Member
I have done a couple 20 rolls and downshifting into 1st, never seem to hurt anything

TemplateType

Established Member
For those saying they do not downshift to first, is it because there is some reason to think it might cause damage or is it just an inconvenience? I would think if you were on a low speed turn on a road course or autocross, or if you just wanted to punch it from a roll, it would be useful to have the extra power available in first gear.

BrunotheBoxer

PUREBLOOD MASTERRACE
Established Member