drag suspension advice

oneslow2v

Established Member
I'm no suspension expert so I need some help on piecing the last little bit of my suspension. It's an 02 gt, I only drive it Friday's and Saturdays. It's mainly a street car but I'd to track it every once and a while.

I already have a team z kmember, strange coilovers for the front with lakewood 90/10 strut, cast and camber plates.

What I need help with is the rear...I've looked at panhard bars, torque arms, thicker sway bars, and upper and lowers. I don't know the best route. I know if I get the torque arm it eliminates the uppers, but I've read that's mainly for road racing.

I run a 28" tall tire with 373 gears. My budget is around 2,000 and noise isn't an issue. Thanks for the help and advice!

blacksheep-1

Established Member
OK..IMO the stock triangulated 4 link is a disaster for any type of road racing, but it can be made to work for drag racing. I've installed several UPR units like this (http://www.uprproducts.com/mustang-chrome-moly-rear-suspension-kit.html) along with the appropriate shock package and floor bracing and they work well..BUT and this is a big "BUT" it will destroy the cars handling for anything else but drag racing. So the other option, really, is to go with a torque arm, this would be the best option for both street driving, handling and drag racing. Just keep in mind that whatever you go with, once you cross the line into
"drag" or "road course" suspension they are not mutually compatible, you will be giving something up on the other end of the spectrum. Do NOT use a panhard bar with the triangulated 4 link..ever. You have to decide what you use the car for, everything is a compromise. I'm thinking you need a set of 4.30-4.56 gears in there as well.

02TrueBlueGT

Established Member