E85 Testing

papajoewill

Established Member
Hey boys and girls,

Today I was able to go to two different pumps that have E85 and I tested the fuel. I tried the test a week ago but the results are inconclusive as I messed something up. I redid the test and have the photos to go along with it.

If you have seen my other thread where the topic of E85 came up, well you guessed it, my uncle still hates the idea and is adamant I will "blow it up because he's heard x and y from his friends" but its my car and my build so here we are ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

After a little bit of time to do my research, I plan on finding a tuner that can tune for both pump gas as well as E85. I will hopefully be running E85 around town and then have the other tune for trips if need be.

Now on to the tests, pump #1 was from a very new Gate station downtown. The color is a little more green in the upper portion of the mix compared to the second sample and I feel like that could be the gasoline mix but I'm no fuel expert. It tested right above the 85% ethanol content line so that made me feel good. Very clear and clean otherwise.

Test #2 was also from a Gate station however it was down on Blanding in Orange Park. I believe my camera angle for this photo was more consistent with eye level viewing and a more accurate reading than the first sample photo. The top portion of that was much more clear and also tested well percentage wise for ethanol content.

I'm curious to see if the blend changes at all going into the fall however I plan to check up on the ethanol content before I'm done.

I believe I will get some ID1300x or FIC1200 injectors and I already purchased a triple pump return style system from a lovely member on the forums here. Not sure if I will change out the pumps before the install but excited to put it in.

The motor is out of the car and just about ready to go to the builder. We just need to fab up a brace to keep it safe on the trip. Bonus pic included.