Engine failure questions

ADL

Established Member
Hello,
I'm trying to learn about engines and performance levels. I think I'm just starting to get to a point where I need to be smarter about making "safe" horsepower and torque.

What exactly causes an engine to fail ("blow up")? I try to read all I can here on the forums and I understand (kind of) that heat, psi, rpms, etc.. contribute to an engine failure.
From reading, it seems there are "rule of thumb" limits for make/model/year cars and engines (stock) such as "700whp is limit for GT500 5.4L stock internals" (I'm not stating this as fact. Just an example statement).

Obviously, I'm not an engineer. But it seems like there would be some good engineering data and formulas that would make pretty good estimations on engines/component's failure points.

I know folks on this forum have a lot of knowledge and experience. Thanks for any info/comments.

Booky

Who's Pick'n The Banjo Here?
Established Member
Hello,
I'm trying to learn about engines and performance levels. I think I'm just starting to get to a point where I need to be smarter about making "safe" horsepower and torque.

What exactly causes an engine to fail ("blow up")? I try to read all I can here on the forums and I understand (kind of) that heat, psi, rpms, etc.. contribute to an engine failure.
From reading, it seems there are "rule of thumb" limits for make/model/year cars and engines (stock) such as "700whp is limit for GT500 5.4L stock internals" (I'm not stating this as fact. Just an example statement).

Obviously, I'm not an engineer. But it seems like there would be some good engineering data and formulas that would make pretty good estimations on engines/component's failure points.

I know folks on this forum have a lot of knowledge and experience. Thanks for any info/comments.

If you run good fuel and a slightly conservative custom dyno tune from an experienced tuner, you should be pretty safe.

JMO

nxhappy

Established Member