Engineering work in North Carolina

aaandht

Established Member
Hey all,

I'm currently looking to relocate out of NJ and one place my girlfriend and I have been looking is NC, near Charlotte. I have some friends that have made the move and are happy with the decision. My one worry is job security down there. A side from a few larger companies, NJs mechanical engineering jobs are not what they once were. This coupled with the high cost of living, along with some other factors, have fueled my decision to move from NJ. I am a recent grad and I do have a job doing work for a Navy subcontractor, but its not really my passion and I was sort of misled as to what I would be doing for the company.

Any who, my question is what is the availability of entry level mechanical engineering work?

---Sent via Blackberry

Condor21

Established Member
I have a Mechanical Engineering and the market is tough. Everyone is looking for 2-3 years experience in 2-3 different things like autocad, sigma six, and others. Year and half ago I put out over 400 resumes and only got 2 phone calls back. I ended up going back to school, and I'm going for an associates in welding technology.

obryant21

Established Member
Hey man, I just moved into Charlotte about 3 months ago and here's what I've gathered thus far.....