Few questions. Looking into buying a L

rich017

Established Member
After having my X-runner for 4 years, I am bored. For a while now I have been interested in selling and buying a Lightning. But I have a few questions.

I am looking at 03 & 04 trucks with 60K and stock (possibly lowered). What are some issues to look out for with these trucks? Also, I have seen threads on PCV and EGR deletes. Is that something I should do right away and clean out the intake manifold and S/C after I do that? I am new to the boosted scene and I have no idea how much the PCV and egr clogs everything up.

Whatever I get will be a DD and I'm in FL so it get's hot. Shortly after, I will be getting a pulley, intake, exhaust and tune and whatever else I need, but have no clue what to get because there seems to be so much stuff. I'm coming from a small community with the x-runner so I am used to having only 1 or 2 vendors that makes stuff for my truck.

oki

Step up or STFU!
Established Member
There are alot of guys in the Orlando area with L's running around. Join up on some of the other boards, specifically lightningrodder and you will find more then enough info on there and from the guys in your area. I am up in Tallahasssee so I hope to see you at some GTG's that we through here in FL & GA. Specifically Souther Truck Shootout at SGMP Nov. 18-20...check it out at Southern Truck Shootout

As for what you are asking...I would recommend the following to start:

1) Oil Change
2) Transmission Fluid Change
3) Since your in Fl and south, chage your Intercooler & radiator fluid to Distilled Water & Water Wetter...you will see cooler temps (You have two systems, so if you unsure on how to do this, shoot me a PM or email me at [email protected])
4) Pull the supercharger to check the plugs, regap/replace if need be
5) Pull the intercooler and clean with CRC brake Clean (Green Can)
6) Install an Oil Seperator if it doesn't already have one.