First Mod: JLT Cai vs catted X pipe

AZSN95SNAKE

Established Member
Hey everyone this is my first thread on here. I drive a 1997 Cobra with no mods besides Ford B springs and shocks. And well it's time to make some power. I have been searching around this forum and others. I'm not new to mustangs but I am pretty new to the 4v (owned this car for almost 4 months barely).

Anyways I'm wanting to do my first performance mods. JLT is definitely the best. JLT promises good power out of their CAI. AmericanMuscle claims 16rwhp/20rwhtq, not sure on that but anywho I have looked around and the termis seem to benefit the most from these cai's being SC and all. According to forum chat I see that many people are happy with their JLT cai, and that power is definitely SOTP. But I'm longing for some sound from an exhaust. I think it's going to be catted; catless is just too loud for me (and I'm not old lol). Still deciding on the set up but thinking bassani catted x with flow super 44s.

Which would be a better buy as a first mod? The JLT cai with flow super 44's (some sound for now/compromise) or the Bassani Catted X with the super 44's?

Sorry for the long post :) oh and p.s. if I did the JLT cai and mufflers an SCT tuner would follow within 2 weeks!

AZSN95SNAKE

Established Member
I'm considering that; a friend of mine says to do the exhaust first. And I won't be getting an offroad pipe ha, too loud for me to drive everyday. I love hearing other mustangs with them but not for me ha.

decisions decisions

97crystalwhite

ah whatsup DOHC?!
Established Member
it wont be too loud, if you think thats loud. listen to slp lm1 with o/r x pipe. by the way our 97 crystal white's are both in the 50,000 mile range!!! haha

Badfish4.6

Established Member
imo, you will c more from the upgraded exhaust. yull find that a drop in or cone k&N will be jus about equal as the CAI. save your money for the tuner and full exhaust. i baught my BBS cai used and and just for esthetic reasons....

DVJ38