First time at paint correction

brys00gt

Established Member
This is my first time trying this on my own. I purchased a griot garage DA. Got some pads and decided on using meguiars 105 and 205.
I thought my car looked good to begin with but after just using the 105 I was floored.
Here are some pictures of the reflection so far. My only complaint is it got so dusty. If anyone had any suggestions on how to avoid the dust please let me know.
pu8ybuve.jpg

vunybuby.jpg

T0RCH3D

Established Member
Well there are many ways. First is to start off with a new clean pad, old pads will dust if not properly cared for. Next prime the pad before spreading product on the paint. In some cases you can mist mineral oil on the paint as your working the product. This can prolong working time and reduce dusting. Change out your pads regularly and work in small sections, do not over work the product as this also will lead to excessive dusting.

Here is an article by Kevin Brown (know as the KBM or Kevin Brown Method):
http://www.buffdaddy.com/files/1519584/uploaded/022409R-O-3pageversion.pdf

Good luck, if you have any other problems or questions let me know.

brys00gt

Established Member
I started with brand new pads and worked in a 2x2 section at a time. I primed the pad based on what I saw in the junkman videos. Maybe because it was a brand new foam pad? Ill watch your video when I get home. Thanks for the help.

Electrokid

Established Member
If you're detailing the whole vehicle it shouldn't really matter whether you get it dusty or not. It could be possible that you're using too much product at a time.
When starting a new panel I will make an thin X across the pad with product and then 'kiss the surface' of the area I'm going to work. After that product is worked in, I will put just a few drops on the pad if necessary, but I won't load it up again with the X shape. (Just my technique.)