• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

Fuel pump wiring help

Discussion in 'Driveline' started by ImPhobia, Jun 4, 2019.

  1. ImPhobia

    ImPhobia New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    23
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2018
    Location:
    Florida
    Hey guys, so I bought a new 03-04 tank for my 04 cobra. The tank that I bought came with the fuel hat and pumps already in it. There was some black silicone on the hat with a wire sticking out of it, I thought this was maybe for a fuel pump voltage booster that was on the car it was taken from so I paid it no mind. Since then I have learned one of my pumps is not working. I took a look at the wiring on the hat and turns out there is a hole drilled in the hat with a red wire coming out of it.

    So after some googling from what I can tell this is a needed upgrade when using GT supercar pumps in the stock 03/04 hat.

    My question is, what do I run this power wire to so I can get the other pump functioning? Thanks in advance.

    1utkgtL.png
     
  2. slo984now

    slo984now AKA 01yellerCobra Established Member

    Messages:
    14,557
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    San Diego
    Was the other car running a return style set up? My thinking is that pump was run on a Hobbs switch. Is the factory wiring for the second pump gone from the other side of the hat? That would be the easiest way to go. Otherwise you need to connect that red wire to the power wire for the other pump so the FPDM can control it.
     
    ImPhobia likes this.
  3. ImPhobia

    ImPhobia New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    23
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2018
    Location:
    Florida
    I honestly don't know, the part came from a junk yard and when I asked they didn't know much about the car. I haven't checked to see if the wiring is intact on the other side. However if these are GT supercar pumps then it wouldn't work with the stock wiring anyways, from what I was researching on google apparently the 2 of them draw too many amps for the stock wiring. I would think just teeing into the other power line would still be drawing too many amps from that power wire but I don't know for sure.

    I also found this diagram online for someone who was running a return style fuel system so I was thinking maybe I could wire the pump using just one relay (the one on the left) for that pump. Would this be a proper way of doing it?
    QXwRj4v.png

    Thanks for your help.
     
  4. slo984now

    slo984now AKA 01yellerCobra Established Member

    Messages:
    14,557
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    San Diego
    I've been running GT pumps on stock wiring for over ten years. Even with the stock FPDM. The stock wiring will be fine. You can do the upgrade if you want to help with FPDC.

    If you're still running a returnless system both pumps need to be controlled by the computer.
     
  5. ImPhobia

    ImPhobia New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    23
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2018
    Location:
    Florida
    Ok awesome I'm glad you were able to correct me on that, that will make fixing this much easier. Ill probably take a look in the hat to see if I can fix it in there. If not I will try and tee into the stock harness wire for one of the pumps.

    You wouldn't happen to have a wiring diagram of the fuel hat wiring on hand would you? I just want to be able to see which wire does what.
     
  6. slo984now

    slo984now AKA 01yellerCobra Established Member

    Messages:
    14,557
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    San Diego
    Sorry I don't. I'm on my phone and the manual is on my computer. Maybe @hotcobra03 will peak in. He seems to have this stuff memorized.
     
  7. ImPhobia

    ImPhobia New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    23
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2018
    Location:
    Florida
    All good man, I appreciate the help. Im going to take a look inside the hat today when I get home and see if I can just use the stock wiring. Ill update with what I find.
     

Share This Page