Hardwiring a radar detector?

caveman6666

V8 Ford, V Twin Hogs.
Established Member
Want to connect my V1 under the glove box and I don't have a test light. Anyone know the color of a hot wire in this area? Thanks.

Goldy

Established Member
Have you considered going to the fusebox for the power source? This is what I've done (a total of 3 times, 2 of which were on Cobras) and it is very, very easy to do. Also, there is no need to splice into any existing wire. Below is the text of one of my previous posts about hardwiring a V1.

Good Luck.

Howard

NOTE: I DO NOT ACCEPT ANY RESPONSIBILITY WHAT-SO-EVER FOR ANY DAMAGE TO ANY VEHICLE, RADAR DETECTOR, OR PERSON/PERSONS WHICH MAY RESULT AS ATTEMPTED TO HARD-WIRE A RADAR DETECTOR AS I'VE DESCRIBED BELOW. SHOULD YOU ATTEMPT TO HARD-WIRE/INSTALL YOUR RADAR DETECTOR AS I HAVE, YOU DO SO AT YOUR OWN RISK. I'm not an electrical engineer/technician, and I do not have any formal training related to electrical systems. I'm just sharing how I hard-wired my V1 radar detector in my cars, and that I am happy with the results. (The way things are today, you can't be too careful!)

I hard-wired a V1 in my '03 as well as my '99, and can tell you it not too hard to do (well worth the minimal effort IMO). I hard-wired mine with something called 'add-a-circuit', which I purchased from my local auto parts store (Pep-Boys). Basically, this part allows you to create a new curcuit from an existing one. The 'add a curcuit' part takes the place of an existing fuse in the fuse box and then accepts two fuses; one for the original curcuit (just re-use the original fuse) and one for the new curcuit. Exiting from the 'add-a-fuse' part is a wire that is the 'pos' for the new curcuit. On both the '99 and '03, I choose the power window circuit for a couple of reasons: it's switched on/off with the (ignition) key, and is located in a spot on the fuse box where the 'add-a-fuse' can connect easily while clearing the fuse box cover.