Having a hard time. Serious conversation

Azsnake

Established Member
I graduated from ASU in May 2012. I made it a priority of graduating in four years and worked hard. I graduated with a Political Science degree (say what you wish). Originally I was planing on going to law school or graduate school but as many know, the law field is over saturated at the moment and I can't afford the gamble I'm still working at the same company as I was during college and while I've been promoted and make okay money, its not fulfilling. I've had two promising interviews since I graduated, but unfortunately neither lead to employment. Right now I'm having a hard time in life trying to keep my chin up. There are many days the outlook seems dim. Other graduates I've spoken to are having similar difficulties.

Any other graduates having similar experiences? Words of wisdom or advice are welcome of course.

Max

jpro

Disoriented Poster
Established Member
You're not alone. A recent study showed that only 56% of college graduates under the age of 25 are employed in jobs that require a college degree. 22% are unemployed and 22% are "underemployed" (working jobs that don't require a degree). Another study found that 41% of all college graduates are over-qualified for the jobs they are in...in other words, they are doing what they need to do to get by and earn a paycheck. They aren't fulfilled by their jobs.

So...have you defined the job or career path that will fulfill you? If not, that is a problem. It is hard to find what you are looking for if you don't know what it is. Also, if you do know what career path will fulfill you, what have YOU done to make it happen?

Take a look at this perspective: The 3 Secrets of Highly Successful Graduates