Help a newbie... bolt-ons ruined my car!!

Bl00dtrail

Established Member
Recently purchased a 98 Cobra... trying to get a little more speed out of it so I bought some bolt-on stuff I thought I could handle... I purchased and installed:
Accufab throttle body (ellipse)
Jlt next gen CAI
SCT BDX tuner... installed "canned" 93 octane tune...

Took my car for a test drive and once I got into higher rpms and into 2nd gear it was missing so bad I turned around and limped home. I took the tuner and returned the car back to stock and it's even worse... barely runs at all.

It seems VERY lean..... but I'm not an expert at all. I dont know cars all that well.

Any suggestions on what to do or who to contact to get these parts all working together? Thanks!

Weather Man

Persistance Is A Bitch
Established Member
Obvious question, did you have a full tank of fresh 93?

When you put the stock tune back in, did you put the stock throttle body and air cleaner back on?

Bl00dtrail

Established Member
Obvious question, did you have a full tank of fresh 93?

When you put the stock tune back in, did you put the stock throttle body and air cleaner back on?

Yes sir. I had a fresh and full tank of 93.

I have not returned the factory throttle body or the factory air cleaner back on yet..
Should i?

Weather Man

Persistance Is A Bitch
Established Member
Yes sir. I had a fresh and full tank of 93.

I have not returned the factory throttle body or the factory air cleaner back on yet..
Should i?

The factory tune will not run right with the aftermarket throttle body and CAI. If it runs right after the stock parts are back on, you probably didn't hurt anything.

Verify what parts, if any, that canned 93 tune was designed to be used with.

Revvv

Infinity Poster
Established Member
This is the issue with a canned tune. I don't have an issue with a canned, email tune as long as it is used as a starting point. From there you need to datalog and have the tune revised.