Help from '93 Cobra owners needed!

ScrpnVNM

Established Member
I'm kind of new to the 5.0 mustang, having bought an '89 LX not too long ago. Anyway, I was wondering if a MAF sensor from a '93 Cobra would work with the 19lb injectors on a H.O. engine. I already have a 70mm t. body and Cobra intake, so I thought it could be a nice addition to that part of the engine. Would I need 24 pounders? Where would be a good place to get a set for not a lot of money? Would I need to replace my fuel pump? Thanks to all!!

SLOW95

SIT DOWN AND SHUT UP!
Established Member
WELL NOT SURE HOW BIG THE 93'S ARE BUT YOU SHOULD HAVE BIG DEALS DOING THE SWAP AND YOU SHOULDNT NEED ANY FUEL UPGRADES FOR IT EITHER:rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :beer: :beer: :beer:

ScrpnVNM

Established Member
the 93's have a 70mm MAF. That's why I thought it would round up the intake side, since I have a 70mm t body ;-) :rockon:
wait, so you're saying I should have "big deals" doing the swap? Meaning I'm going to run into trouble? Or "big deals" meaning power gains?

Last edited:

unibager

Established Member
No, the cobras' have 24lb injectors, so the mass air would not work with your 19lb injectors. Anyway, there are many manufacturers of mass air units that flow better than the cobra unit - buy one of them. I replaced mine with a C&L. Some say they have had issues, but most issues are caused by curvy CAI systems - I kept my stock filter box and put a K&N in it and it works good, I used to have a vortech unit also on another mustang and it worked well too. Good luck.

cobra186

Stang Trader
Established Member
The 93 Cobra MAF will work fine on your 5.0 with 19lb injectors.

The 93 Cobra computer is calibrated for the 24lb injectors not the MAF like the aftermarket does to "trick" the computer.