Help Me decide on what to choose as my Major

Champ10187

Established Member
Right now i am a freshman at michigan State University. I'm current major is mechanical engineering and i'm going to be getting out of it because i know it's extremely difficult and i know i won't be able to do well in it....i know this is the wrong attitude but i feel its the truth. The problem is i dont know what to switch in to. I want to do something i enjoy obviously but the only thing i really enjoy is learning about cars and stuff like. What i'd like to do is be a manager of some kind or someone who is in charge and makes decisions. I'd like to work for some kind of automotive company but i dont know what major to choose that would give me that kind of career. Also i was thinking about doing something with real state/real estate development becuase my dad owns alot of land that i'm going to inherit. What kinds of majors do you think would work out in these areas. thanks for your help.
chris

i3ooivl

Established Member
STAY MECHANICAL!!!!...... its the best brand of engineer you can possibly be. I'm a senior at UF for mechanical engineering and its the best decision i've ever made. True the course work is hard, but everyone i know that actually has a job in the industry has enjoyed every second of their job (not to mention they didnt use half of what they learned in college)

BUT if you really really really want to change...... Go industrial engineering. Its kinda like bland engineering and is 3 classes away from a business degree (really easy to double major).

GOOD LUCK!

ampstang

Nobody F's w/ a Lion
Established Member
Just become a business major. Become active in different organizations which will increase your chances of getting a job since so many people are business majors.

Champ10187

Established Member
ampstang, what do you mean become active in different organizations??