Help me with my first REAL detail!

wwmost

Established Member
Ok well I bought a porter cable about 3 months ago and really haven’t used it to its full potential. I need to get some new products, some better products. Any help? I get confused when I start looking at alllll of these polishes and I don’t know which one to get. My car is DSG and has minor swirls from drying. No deep scratches. I need new pads also.

What polishes, wax, and sealants should I get? What order do I put these on? Speed, pad color how do I apply them?

I am an amateur at this stuff but I am constantly trying to learn. I’m trying to look up stuff on detail forums but thought I would ask you guys for a little help.

Thanks

zeus201

Established Member
I just used mine last weekend and if I was able to do it, then anybody can. I wished I took before and after pics, but I'd say it took out 95% of the swirls out.

I used on my Redfire Mustang:
Menzerna SIP @ speed 5 / orange pad (lightly misted the pad with distilled water)
Menzerna 106FF @ speed 5 / white pad
Klasse AIO by hand (paint cleaner and it left an awesome shine!)
Danase Wet Glaze @ speed 3.5 ~ 4 / blue pad (probably could have skipped this step)
Sealed with PB EX-P by hand

I normally would use a Carnuba wax, but Iowa winters are harsh. I needed something to last the next 3 months which a sealant can last from everything I've read and seen.

I would highly recommend using Menzerna. I was impressed how easy it was to use. It was quite easy to tell when it was completely broken down. It is really easy as long as you take your time and check your work.

You can purchase everything you need from out local vendor: SMP (http://www.specialtymotoring.com/). Use the 10% discout code SVTPERFORMANCE. I'd call Scott and he can hook you up with everything you need!

Last edited:

Scott P

Established Member