Help me with wheels please

jj6077

Established Member
Hey guys, long time lurker, recently trying to get into the 5.0 forum scene. I noticed that a lot of guys here have been modding their cars and such, as well as the wheels. From what I see, the most common seem to be RTR, GT500 wheels and the brembo package.
I was really considering the boss302s wheels, but I heard they were really heavy? Also I've read a couple of some people's post about wheel weight, extra rotating mass, 18's are better than 19's , etc, and that just confused me even more.
I am fairly new to the motorsports scene (I did not get into it because my highschool/jr. HS years was the time when Fast and the Furious was a huge fad which I wanted no part of) so I come to you guys asking advice on what wheels I should buy. Keep in mind that I am 22 year old college student, and this being the second car that I am paying for so wheels that are 2k+ are definetly out of the question. I would like to hear your opinions. Thanks in advance!

time capsule

Established Member
Go with som drag wheels. They look good and weigh next to nothing. The fronts will be a 17" if you have the big brakes and the rears will be a 15". Put a nice drag tire on the rear and your all set.

Torch10th

I make hits
Established Member
Without paying some coin you're really not going to get in to a light weight wheel. You'd be looking at something like a true forged, iForged etc. Be ready to spend 3000-5000 just on the wheels in many cases.

That's probably why everybody goes with the GT500 wheels or RTR's. However the brembo package wheels are among the lightest wheel you can get from Ford. So if you're worried about weight, that's an option.

For a street car, you probably won't notice any added weight in day to day activities.

DEADLY FORCE

Established Member