High end hesitation

toms97cobra

Established Member
I am new to the 4 valve motors and I am hoping you guys can teach me something here. I have a completely stock 1997 cobra 34000 mile, having an issue with the high end power. At WOT above 3000 rpm I can feel the car hesitate sporadically. I can feel the IMRC's open and it pulls but seems to go flat for a second, once or twice before 6500 rpm. From what I have read the IMRC's open at 3250ish. The defiantly open. Now also read its harder to tell in first and second, witch I find true feel it most in 3rd and 4th. Any ideas on how to go about this or should I not worry about it. I just put new plugs in it gapped at 54 they are the maximum motor sport OEM recommended replacement platinum plugs. I have read to reduce the gapping to about 45 on a stock motor. Is there a way to test the IMRC controller to see if it is holding the IMR's open, but from what I have read they either work or don't work. Any help would be cool .... I love the car and I am a little ocd on how it runs..... thanks guys

Last edited:

GRUSE

Established Member
It sounds like the IMRC's are gunked up,even if they are opening 96 & 97's have the aluminum ones that get dirty a little quicker then the 98's.Plenty of threads on how to clean IMRC's .
If you can,return the platinum plugs and get some NGK TR55 or Autolite 764. Copper plugs>Platinum.
Does your car have MDS coils or wires?if yes ditch them for OEM coils.How old are the wires?Replace with FRPP 9mm when you change them.
Another thing could be old or clogged fuel filter.

Cowtown

Established Member