Home electrical wiring help.

Pushrodsnake

Back in Black
Established Member
I've never done home wiring before, so I figured I'd see if any of y'all could help me out.

I have a 5hp Ingersoll Rand 60 gallon air compressor that runs off of 15 amps and 240 volts, however, there is no plug in the garage that can supply this power. I want to run a new plug straight off of the breaker box (which is in the garage already), and I'm just wondering if I have everything I need (and if I do, is it the right stuff).

Everything. Disregard the small gauge wire. That was for something else and kind of sneaked into this photo.
DSCN0880.gif

Wire.
DSCN0881.gif

This is the kind of plug that the power cord requires.
DSCN0883.gif

20 amp circuit breaker.
DSCN0885.gif

Spec plate on the air compressor.
DSCN0887.gif

TGS2

Dr.Gonzo
Established Member
I'm in the same boat. Just got a compressor and it keep flipping my breaker, so I'm going to have to upgrade. I think I'll be paying someone to do it though.

lwrs10

Chapstick!
Established Member
first thing I see is you have the wrong breaker. 240 volt means 2 120 volt wires are going to be needed. Go get a double throw breaker.

Then it would really help you to get someone that knows what they are doing to help you. If you run the wire, i would bet you can get an electrician to hook it all up for 50 bucks or less. This is something you dont want to hook up wrong...

But if you really want to know how to do it, your white/black wires are going to be your hot wires. Wire the plug first, white on one side, black on the other. It will be labeled on the back which side is which. Ground, the bare or green wire, will go on the green screw. On the double throw breaker, it will be white on bottom, black on top. Where the ground goes will be self explanatory one you take the cover to your breaker box off. Make sure you wire the breaker up BEFORE you snap it in place.

Here is some write up on it....