How much will I have to spend to beat...

03_Snake

Established Member
A buddy at work just installed a Magnacharger on his Z06.

Magnussen's web page FAQ indicates that it is an M-90 blower. As far as boost is concerned: "non-intercooled systems will run about 4.5-5.5 lbs of boost with intercooled systems running slightly higher"

They claim "Gains 130 hp and 130 ft-lbs of rear wheel torque over stock" and have a dyno chart showing this on a 2001 C5.

If a stock Z06 makes 405 HP, this looks like approx. 450 RWHP, assuming 15% drivetrain loss.

I can't let this go by and not do anything, can I?

I have been holding off on pully/chip while my warranty slowly wears out, but now I have to do something!

So, he weighs in about 500# or more lighter than my 'Vert.

$$$$$

It looks costly.

Do I have to consider KB or can I get away with 2.8 and custom chip, plus alot of suspension/stiffening?

Waddiya think?

Tnx!

Shanezam203

Established Member
i am far from an expert but I bet that corvette if tuned right is near the 11's wouldnt you? I'd say put on a 2.8 and get a tune and your set. maybe some tires, and a heat exchanger to be safe. what do you think?

racerat

200+mph Boss-O-Matic!
Established Member
He'll kill you even if you're pushing 550rwhp with your vert. Modified Z06's are no joke and he has about 700lbs less weight than you do.

slythetove

Down the rabbit hole....
Established Member
Originally posted by racerat
He'll kill you even if you're pushing 550rwhp with your vert. Modified Z06's are no joke and he has about 700lbs less weight than you do.

Yep. Plus the Z's numbers will be more like 480+ rwhp (stock mine was 356 rwhp so + 130 = 480+).

Check out Z06vette.com to see folks that have them.

You'd need a KB / whipple and a LOT of boost (20+ lbs) making over 600 rwhp at least to beat him.

Last edited:

DaleM

Sebring SVTOA
Established Member
SVTP OG 4 Life
Ok it's time for 200 hp shot of nitrous, and upgrade your fuel system.