I finally found MY tick!!!!

wojowojo16

Established Member
well its been there for a LONG time, never really got worse so I didn't worry about it too much. Well the last 6 weeks its been getting louder and today I figured I spun a bearing, lost a valve guide, something horrific.

Anyway, I pop the hood and the noise is coming from the top of the motor, dead center, I swear its the alternator...

So I pull the belt off the motor, crank her up, and guess what, without the blower spinning and no alternator (aside from my exhaust), she's purring like a kitten!!!!

So, I put the belt back on, got my stethoscope (I'm an EMT by the way), crank her up, here the tick, put the steth on the blower, sound like a blower, put in on the alternator, tick, tick, tick, F'n TICK!!! 22,000 miles on my car and I need an alternator to make this frickan tick go away.

So now to my questions.

1 - anyway to fix the one I have. (I'm guessing no, it probably has a shot bearing)

2 - What kind of alternator would you replace it with? OEM? Duralast from Autozone?? Bosch from Advanced? (I have a commercial account at advanced and can usually get stuff pretty cheap there)

Last edited:

grant007

Established Member
yeah im in the same boat.. i was so relieved that it was just the alt, but havent replaced it yet..im thinking about getting another OE one. i also would like to know which one ppl prefer.

Finaltheorem47

I'm a Lead Farmer
Established Member
ya an alternator isn't going to dig in your pocket as much as other items that could have caused the "tick". The ones from the part stores are usually good.

Boostlag

Darth Vader Status
Established Member
I think thats my problem right now too. I recently listened to my motor,and heard a loud obnoxious ticking noise. Put my head to each valve cover,and heard nothing,but right in the middle,is the tick.

sprayedcobra

Established Member