• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

IAT sensor

Discussion in 'The Blower Bistro' started by baggett3_27, Aug 10, 2010.

  1. baggett3_27

    baggett3_27 New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Location:
    RAF Lakenheath, UK
    I'm putting a Vortech S/C on and the instructions say to put the IAT sensor in the air intake assembly, but I read somewhere that putting a screw in style in the discharge tube is much better. Does anyone have an opinion on this, and if so, should I switch to the screw in style IAT sensor? I've looked all over the web for the screw in style but I can't seem to find where I can get one?
     
  2. FoxFour

    FoxFour Peace,Love and Soul! Established Member

    Messages:
    949
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Location:
    Charleston SC
    Lightning IAT . I believe the truck had 2. One of them is the threaded one. Your factory connector will plug right in. Don't forget to add a bung to the metal intake tube.
     
  3. TwinTurbo4vGT

    TwinTurbo4vGT Slowest GT alive :) Established Member

    Messages:
    10,892
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    he will want an 02 Lightning sensor. OR you could get the HPX PMAS and splice it into the harness since the HPX has a built in IAT sensor.
     
  4. baggett3_27

    baggett3_27 New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Location:
    RAF Lakenheath, UK
    Now when you say bung are you talking about the one that comes on the IAT sensor already or another also? Here is the sensor I ordered. Lightning IAT sensor, threaded
     
  5. Parts-is-Parts

    Parts-is-Parts Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,268
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Parts Room
    DY754 From Ford
     
  6. 04DeadShort

    04DeadShort SVT Addict Established Member

    Messages:
    1,249
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Location:
    Carrollton, GA
    That looks pretty close to the IAT in the manifold on my Lightning. The truck does have two. One is at your air filter (its a push in type), the other is after charger in the mid-plate area.
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2010
  7. racin4ds

    racin4ds SVT Crazy Established Member

    Messages:
    292
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Location:
    Slanesville WV
    What year is your car? it likely only has 1 IAT, where the S/C Lightnings and Cobras had 2. You will want to relocate your sensor to Post-Blower, that way it reads the correct air temps after the blower has heated the air. If its before the blower then you get false readings to the PCM.
     
  8. notchstang92

    notchstang92 Spoolin' Established Member

    Messages:
    2,172
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    South Shore, MA
    My 01 cobra only has the IAT in air intake tube. I moved it to the lower intake like the 03 cobras have it. You will have to buy the correct IAT2 sensor and you would also have to extend the wiring from your factory IAT harness to reach this sensor. Other than that its fine and works great.

    This is on an eaton swap though and If you are runnign a vortech I imagine you are using the stock cobra intake. I think you can drill it out for the sensor if you need to. The one I used is threaded and it reads the IATs after the blower which as others have said is how you want it.
     
  9. Stang Stalker

    Stang Stalker New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    89
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Location:
    Washington
    On ’99 to ’01 cars the Air Charge Temperature (ACT) sensor
    electrical harness from the stock intake tube needs to be
    extended approximately 18” to reach its new location. Butt
    connectors can be used to extend these wires but soldering of
    the wires and heat shrink covering is preferred if these tools and
    equipment are available to you. Connect the ACT.





    NOTE: On 2002 - ‘04 cars the
    original ACT is actually part of the MAFS so you will need
    to cut the outer 2 wires (one from each side) of the MAFS
    connector and then connect this to the ACT sensor.
    Butt connectors will work for this task, but soldering and
    using heat shrink covering is preferred.
    Using
     
  10. sunburned

    sunburned I miss my torque Established Member

    Messages:
    13,842
    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Location:
    NoVA
  11. baggett3_27

    baggett3_27 New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Location:
    RAF Lakenheath, UK
    I have a 99 GT that already has the IAT, I just needed the thread in type instead of the push in for the discharge tube. The wires are already in the correct location, so I'm not going to have to do any wire extending on my car.
     
  12. sunburned

    sunburned I miss my torque Established Member

    Messages:
    13,842
    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Location:
    NoVA
    Well then, I guess you are good.

    When I installed the IAT in my GT, I drilled the hole small enough so that it literally took WD40 and all my strength to get the sensor in the the grommet. Never leaked.
     
  13. baggett3_27

    baggett3_27 New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Location:
    RAF Lakenheath, UK
    How much boost are you running?
     

Share This Page