Informed Car People...What did I do?

SnakeEyes87

Established Member
Okay, I have a couple of pictures of something under my car. I am new to this and am unsure of it's name or purpose for that matter. Sorry! But the thing I do know is that it is not suppose to leak an oily substance. I think I may have some how cracked the seal, which could have occured at the my recent track visit. Has anyone done this? What occured to inflict this? and What was your resolution?

This is, from the back of the car, in the very middle of the rear wheels, inbetween the exhuast pipes.

Sorry the pictures are so big, the "seal" is nearest the bottom on this one.

snakecharmr99

Established Member
The pic is of the rear differential, specifically the IRS center section. Is the fluid coming out from between the cover and the housing? If so, have you ever jacked the car up using this as a lifting point? There have been a few posts regarding leaky pinion seals (at the other side of the pic where the driveshaft attaches) and halfshaft seals (where the two "mini driveshafts" come out and go toward the rear wheels). I would try cleaning up all the visable fluid real good to try to see exactly where it is coming from. There is a vent tube assembly on the top of the diff. you might have just blown a little fluid out from there. I wouldn't use the diff. as a lifting point for jacking the car up however. Try cleaning up the fluid and see if it still leaks out. If so, try to find out exactly where it is coming from, good luck, snakecharmr99.

BBriBro

Established Member
Originally posted by snakecharmr99
I wouldn't use the diff. as a lifting point for jacking the car up however.
I have never owned a rear wheel drive car with independent suspension, I always have used the diff for lifting in the past, what do you recommend on the cobra? I prefer to lift the whole front or rear at a time, (rather than just one corner)

4D THNDR

Established Member