Insurance question

Bens4vcobra

On hallowed ground
Established Member
i'm an insurance agent by trade, and i personally think it will be more to insure the cobra because it will cost more to repair. keep in mind that rates vary by state and some companies use your credit as a determining factor.

nevertofast

Established Member
i'm an insurance agent by trade, and i personally think it will be more to insure the cobra because it will cost more to repair. keep in mind that rates vary by state and some companies use your credit as a determining factor.

why is that ?

vroom-vroom

Established Member
Yeah it will be a bit more to insure the cobra. Also keep in mind that the cobra only runs on premium and the GT can run on regular.

Longhornd00d

I Roll With My Kitties
Established Member
Yeah it will be a bit more to insure the cobra. Also keep in mind that the cobra only runs on premium and the GT can run on regular.

That's what kept me from buying another Cobra. Premium fuel would kill me.

And if you can, and this would be the smart thing to do for now, is try to see if you can get on your parents policy and just pay them whatever the extra cost of the car adds. It would be way cheaper than trying to carry it your own.

svtfocus2cobra

Opprimere, Velocitas, Violentia Operandi
Established Member
I don't know what it would be like for you but I was 19 when I bought my Cobra and had 1 ticket on my record at the time. My insurance rate under my parents was 375/month, 425/month on my own. I got 2 tickets in the Cobra but State Farm still dropped my rates and I'm now only paying 150/month and that is on my own, my rates carried over from when I was under my parents. I could get it even lower with the Steer Clear program they have but I haven't had the time to do it.

I don't know if things would be the same for you but maybe it gives you an idea.

Last edited:

Bens4vcobra

On hallowed ground
Established Member
why is that ?

They do, don't really know why but they do.