Launch Control on a GT?

danponjican

Established Member
I'm not an expert on how the launch control works on the 2012 Boss but it seems like it is just software. Shouldn't someone be able to build this into a custom tune for a 2011+ GT?

StevenStarke

Fast/Reliable/Cheap pick2
Established Member
its part of the flash. I wish the mustang market had open ecu hackers like the evo/subie guys do. Then we'd all be able to flash our own cars without dealing with this BS.

D.T.R

Established Member
4k rpms 2 step =
datass.gif

danponjican

Established Member
4k rpms 2 step =
datass.gif

Not the point. It just seems like an easy thing to bake into a custom tune and why not have a setting where we can consistently set out launch rpm. I don't care how good you are, setting it electronically is always going to be more accurate then watching the gauge and trying to manually repeat the same RPM every launch.

D.T.R

Established Member
Not the point. It just seems like an easy thing to bake into a custom tune and why not have a setting where we can consistently set out launch rpm. I don't care how good you are, setting it electronically is always going to be more accurate then watching the gauge and trying to manually repeat the same RPM every launch.

Do you comprehend how a 2 step works? :dw:

danponjican

Established Member
Do you comprehend how a 2 step works? :dw:

Yes I do (didn't understand your first reference to it, but figured it out in jymboslice's post). Here again though, this is not the point of my question. I have no doubt that the MSD 2 step is a great mod to have for a serious race car. I was more curious about what comes in the factory Boss program and wondering why it never made it to custom tunes for GTs. Seems like a nice "freebie" to distinguish tuners (similar to what some have done with the ghost idle in the tune).

Torch10th

I make hits
Established Member