Limerock - Oct 24th with Loose Nuts Motorsports

dmichaels

Established Member
I'm headed to Limerock on Oct 24th with a couple friends. Will be instructing one of them, and then driving my Mustang for what will likely be my last outing for 2014. Anyone else going? I know Steve will be there... beware I'll (finally) have slicks with me :)

If anyone signs up, make sure to advise LNM that I referred you! Trying to get a big crowd out!

http://www.loosenutmotorsports.com/

14GTBrembo

Established Member
I was going to go but it is sold out now. Did you run your car with the OEM wheels and Pirelli tires? What did you think of that? I have a similar car and am not thrilled. The Pirellis seem to get greasy fast and then pick up a tone of track debris on the tread blocks. Now considering 9.5 in. wheels with 275/35-19 Michelin Super Sports, Nitto NT05 or Yokihama Advan AD08R. It's my first year and looking for tires that build confidence and are predictable. Not ready for R's yet.

My last day will be SCDA Nov. 1st also at LRP. Maybe it will snow. My first day was NASA at LRP on March 29th and there was some ice on the outside corner of the uphill with snow melt running down the track.

Any thoughts on tires?

dmichaels

Established Member
I have run my car a couple times with the OEM Pirelli's. I've run them at Watkins Glen and NYST when the car was otherwise stock (plus track pads), and this Sept at Thompson when I didn't have time to put on my track wheels. I found the car was quicker with the Pirelli's compared with the staggered setup I've been using for the track all season. I have found they are pretty grippy and have not had issues with them getting greasy, but the weather has been in the 50's and 60's on the days I've run them. I like the square setup though, as the car was a lot more neutral on the square setup compared with staggered.