Lower pulleys

GetSome

Established Member
Anyone having problems with overheating after the lower pulley mod? I heard temperature raises a lot after running them hard. I am skeptical about upgrading the pulleys due to this....trying to hold off on spending the extra cash for the cooler upgrade. Since I am a daily driver, should I hold off on the lower pulley? :-?

Undy

Established Member
I think you'll be safe for the street if you stay with the 2lb lower. Some people are running 4 lb lowers with 1 to 2 lb uppers. This should be a "race only" set up. I think after the 2lb increase intake air temps tend to increase exponentially with more boost. You can "artificially" drop the temps by remote ice coolers sold by JL but that's only good for the strip and worthless for daily street use. Hope this helps....

John Armstrong

Established Member
I'm running Jim's big pulley and mine is pretty much a daily driver and having no problems heat or otherwise. We are running 13lbs of boost according to my Autometer boost gauge.

Several of us Texan have Jim's big pulley and one has the small upper and large lower and I have not heard of any problems.

Last edited:

LIGHTNINROD

Established Member
Noo problems--heat or otherwise....

I have just the 3# JL pulley and stock upper. Drive daily(35 mins.-one way) , although I don't 'hit' the boost most of the time while on the h'wy. Also made 3 dyno runs and 100+ 1/4 mile WOT passes(most of the time, not shutting off eng.) with the stock coolant temp gauge needle just at or just above the 'F' mark.

Btw, I have the boost dump disconnected too--no 'heat' or any other kind of problems........wait, I forgot, the fog lights are cracked

Dan

Undy

Established Member