Lowering Questions

Slow95Cobra

Certified in SVT by Ford
Established Member
Im sure its been asked many time before guys..lol. But i just picked up a 03 L the other day, and i need to lower it. ive looked at the FRPP kit, and the Hotchkis kit on LFP, but havent seen much else. anyone have any good reviews on the Hotchkis kit since it has new leafs? i think whoever had the truck before me put longer shackles on the rear, since they have a couple holes and several inches long. and after looking at a few factory pics it seems to sit lower in the rear. i wouldnt mind a 2/4 drop, but if thats gonna require new spindles... id rather stick with just springs. alignment isnt a problem for me since im a Ford tech.

let me know what kits you guys use, and what is out there if you dont mind. ive been in the Mustang/Cobra bag for over 10 years, just never on the truck side, so all the mods are new (in a sense) to me, and just wanna get it right the first time. thanks everyone!!!

ecfecb41.jpg

this is how it sits now, and like i said it seems lower in the rear than a factory setup.. i dont know if they came from the factory with any type of shackles, or bolted directly to the frame. i can get some pics underneath the rear, but itll have to wait till tomorrow if someone could tell me if its aftermarket shackles

SLVRBLT

Such is Life....
Established Member
from the looks of it, its 100% stock suspension.

Lots of ways you go like you said, its about how much $ are you willing to spend.

My set up for my '02 is Belltech 4804 springs cut half a coil, still kept the isos but taking them off soon. Belltech shackles/hangers out back. Belltech street performance shocks up front and DJM shocks out back.

IMG_1238.jpg

silver01litin

Established Member
Hey nice L. On mine i have the FRPP lowering kit with shackles in rear and springs up front. and belltech shocks all around, i like it alot and rides nice. also isnt too much money.

Dusten

Established Member