METALLIC RATTLING coming from clutch area.....PLEASE HELP.

rsnyder

SVT
Established Member
I have a noise that has progressively gotten louder that is coming from my clutch area. It sounds like a metallic rattling, a lot like when a catylitic converter breaks apart inside and rattles. I had the cats removed (high flow Magnaflow) cause I just thought right away that was the problem.....oops...I was wrong. The noise was still there and upon closer inspection, it's coming from my clutch area (and it's f-ing LOUD). I have limited experience with this, so I have no idea what it could be. I've never heard a noise quite like this coming from that area. It's definitely not the engine or inside the trans, it's in the bellhousing area:(. Any help or input would be great. Thanks in advance guys. :-D

PS: I have a Spec stage 3 that was prof. installed approx 1 year ago (5,000 miles).

mysticsvt

southernmustangandford
Established Member
Premium Member
Party Liquor Posse
Just a thought...push the clutch in..does it go away? If so throw out bearing if not then Im not sure-Shane

Senkak

SVT Poster
Established Member
Like mystic svt said, it is probably your throw out bearing.
Did you upgrade the TOB sleeve when the new clutch was installed?
The stockers break frequently.
Pull off the inspection cover, have a buddy push the clutch in. You will see the sleeve move if it is broken.
Best of luck!

LS1-Larry

Established Member
I was having the EXACT same noise........I thought maybe a broken baffel in my mufflers since I had no cats(Mac mufflers).............but I suspected it could be something to do with my TOB.........and sure enough my TOB and I think my TOB retainer sleeve went Bye Bye on Tuesday and I havent cracked it open yet!

TRBO VNM