• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

MIL new 5.0 Coyote crate engine

Discussion in 'Coyote Series Engines' started by kenny nunez, Aug 9, 2018.

  1. kenny nunez

    kenny nunez New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Location:
    Kenner, La. Jefferson parish
    I have just finished installing the complete 2016 package in my 68 F-100.
    The MIL does not go out like the directions said it would. I went over the wiring several times. I took it to a friend’s shop and the scanner said the AIT was 40* and the fuel injection power was out. The engine starts instantly, the IAC controls the idle, it appears to be using too much fuel however. I am using a 4r70w with a US shift controller and a Auto Meter tach signal converter for the shift control.
    I have not cut or modified anything and am using the complete air filter system without any modifications.
    I sure hope I can get some help as I do not want to start guessing and throwing $ at it and not correcting the problem. Thanks, Kenny
     
  2. railroad

    railroad Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,503
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Location:
    warrior, al
    I have heard of 2 harness problems with the Coyote kit purchased from Ford for these engines. One they exchanged the harness and the other required relocation of 2 pins in a connector.
    Try the Ford Perf hot line and see what they advise.
     
  3. kenny nunez

    kenny nunez New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Location:
    Kenner, La. Jefferson parish
    . Thanks for the reply.
    Guess what! They told me to contact someone on this site! That is why I asked the question in the first place.
    Those guys are not that helpful and try to see how fast they can get you off the phone.
    On the spec sheet the oil requirement is 5-50. On the valve cover the fill says 5-20. I know this is “splitting hairs” but you can see where I am coming from.
    The electrical and fuel instructions are easy to follow but there is no information on the vacuum arrangement. That is where some improvement in the instructions would help.
    I am a retired auto and marine mechanic so this is not my first rodeo. I installed a 32 valve 98 MK engine in my 67 Ford Galaxie 8 years ago with a T45 that gets driven a lot.
    If the engine needs to be scanned for a problem does Ford have a “generic” vin that can be used ?
     
  4. railroad

    railroad Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,503
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Location:
    warrior, al
    If you are using an OBD II scanner, I do not think a vin is necessary.
    Not 100% on this.
    The 2 issues I related to are discussed on FFR site. I thought I had an email relating to the relocation of the pins in the harness, but did not.
    War Eagle Scott had to send his harness back for a replacement. I cannot remember the name of the other Coyote harness issue. Maybe a search will turn up something. Fortunately they have a Coyote thread forum. Good luck,
     

Share This Page