miss my grand prix GTP's HUD

Blades

Established Member
I miss that on my bonneville ssei.. But i'd rather have my cobra speedo because whenver i step on the gas the needle just seems to climb a little bit faster than the bonny.. :burnout:

we dont need no stinkin HUD

f4sfed

Established Member
THAT'S cool! It's either this, or a shift light. Have you contacted them? ...'cuz I'm about to. I'll let you know what their response is. Their info page doesn't state 8 cyl engines. :(

BrianR

Mild Mannered
Established Member
Originally posted by f4sfed
THAT'S cool! It's either this, or a shift light. Have you contacted them? ...'cuz I'm about to. I'll let you know what their response is. Their info page doesn't state 8 cyl engines. :(
The Main Products page states:

"Can be installed on 3, 4, 5, 6 and 8 cylinder vehicles with 4 cycle engines. "

Brian

ZXnVS

Established Member
Interesting. Being a pilot, I've always wanted a HUD in my car. I considered a Z06 for that reason (along with the much lower weight).

I'm not sure I like the idea of having to stick a patch of plastic film on my windshield. From the picture it looks pretty obtrusive. I'm also a bit skeptical about how visible the display would be in daylight.

It's a cool idea, but there's really not much way to tell how well it was implemented until someone bites the bullet and tries one out.

VintagePorscheG

Old School SVT Poster
Established Member
Like I said, I had it in my Grand Prix and loved it.

The trouble with this system is the mph/rpm version doesnt seem to be listed for 8 cyl cars... and the sport version doesn't give mph only kph....

strange.

As for the reflective sticker, The GTP had to have a special windshield (with this sticker inside the safety glass) if you had hud...

I am not sure why if the box is only picking up the signal from the speedo and tack wires why wouldn't this work (or be made to work) on our cars...

Hmmm....

f4sfed

Established Member