My brakes are toast...

Juiced-03

Established Member
Well my pads have finally reached the end at 23,000 miles LOL. My friend and are going to try the pad swap ourselves. I have never done brakes before but he is pretty confident in doing mine since he has done several cars. Is there anything I need to know before beginning? Any special tools or anything that makes these brakes different from any other car? Should I have my rotors turned or is that optional? I am not sure which pad I will go with yet. I will probably do some searches on here and see what is the best. I want something that has better stopping power over stock with no noise and little dust. Anyone have trouble swapping the pads themselves?

Thanks!

Bryan

Last edited:

Dana

Bluesmobile
Established Member
I can help with a few of the topics.

First, you need a special tool for the rear calipers. It is used to push the pistons back into the caliper housing. It pushes and turns at the same time. These pistons can not just be pushed back in. Don't know if it is needed on the fronts, haven't done them yet.
I would always get the rotors turned. It is cheap insurance against a pedal pulsation and aids in seating the pads.

Material selection is up to you, but I think there are always trade-offs to be made. I don't think you will get increased stopping power without some additional brake dust.
I have heard of some new ceramic material that reduces the appearance of dust because it is white, but I have no experience with them.
I am far from an expert on performance brakes on these cars and I know that many others have had a lot more experience with various type of pads.
You are right to search around for comments on the different brands and models.

Dana

JDV

Rsrved 4 sumthin clever
Established Member