N/A 96-98 Cobra

LaserRed_Snake

Established Member
Hey guys I'm new to this! Hah but I wanted to know what performance mods I can do to my 96 cobra to make a good 320-340 hp to the wheels. Current mods- bbk long tubes, bbk o/r x pipe, and I believe a jlt cai. Any help appreciated! Thanks

1BD9D7

Rollin down the road in..
Established Member
If staying NA then I believe 340 rwhp would be pretty expensive.

gq916

Established Member
look at my signature. Made 308 SAE to the wheels 318 STD. If I had to do it all over again, I would get a smaller Kenne Bell Supercharger with stock gears or No more than 3:55s for sure.

i8urSS

Established Member
Don't get caught up in numbers. These cars will never put down what the LS motors do, but with the right combos they are still a blast to drive. If you want more hp I would throw a blower on it. If you just need a little something every now and then to keep up with your friends, put a little dry shot on it and run the hell out of it.

I personally think gears should be your next mod. That's the best bang for the buck in my opinion. I did 4.10's but would probably do 4.30's if I had it all to do over again.

dragracingfreak

Bowtie Killer
Established Member
Don't be embarrassed, my car put down 270 rwhp about a year ago. I put some good drag tires on it and with 3.73s, (I am in the process of putting 4.33s in right now) launched at around 4000rpms, and my best pass was a 13.35 @ 105 w/ 1.9x 60'. My LT and LS buddys haven't outran me yet. Don't forget we just have a 281 c.i. motor and we can keep up if not outrun LT/LS. An LS does pull good up top so just beat them out of the hole and hit your shifts, you should be alright. The closest one to me is my buddies 95 LT1 A4, he ran a 13.37. It basically comes down to the driver most of the time as long as the cars are just stock or mildly modded. Like some of the guys have said, these cars do like gears, meaning at the least 4.10s if not 4.30s. Here is what I have to run those #s.