need help w/ haze and water spots

tx03snake

Established Member
hey guys i am trying to get water spots and haze that i have on my car. in certain spots it is pretty bad but others you really cannot tell that much. i bought the car used and i believe the guy just let it sit and when i was getting it i could not really tell how bad the paint actually was. when i was at SEMA the guy at Meguiars told me to get there compound and it should take care of the problem. i just bought some and after being clayed and everything i began to put it on and the haze and water spots began to go away but it took a lot of effort. hopefully i didnt do something wrong as i am new to the real detailing on cars.

i want to order a porter cable to help me out and i was just wondering what else yall would think would help me get rid of this and really make the DSG paint look much better? need help asap got a lot of car shows and different things i am trying to get this thing ready for. sorry for writing so much but i do appreciate the help guys

zaxjax

The Detailed Image
Established Member
The water spots need to be polished and need to be done by a machine. The haze may be buffer trails but without pics I have no idea. Buffer trails are not coming out when you don't have a machine.

Saleen281sc

I've got a Cobra,too
Established Member
^+1

What he said.

You aren't going to get ANYTHING major out with a Porter Cable.

You need the real deal buffer.

On a couple of my cars, I had some minor acid etching/scars/scratches, so I took some 3M 3000 grit and sanded out the clear, then buffed back out to an ultragloss finish.

The great thing about 3000 grit is a foam pad will remove those scratches, whereas using 1500-2000 grit will require a wool pad, followed up by the foam pad.

hand-to-ball

That Was Just Your Life
Established Member
^+1

What he said.

You aren't going to get ANYTHING major out with a Porter Cable.