need help with plugs

i8urSS

Established Member
I'm new to the SN-95 cobras. I was running NGK iridium plugs in my terminator and was wondering if those are good in these cars too? Didn't know if there was something that responded better in a NA cobra. I have 98 with 70k miles and basic bolt ons. CAI, LT's, O/R X and flowmasters. I also have MSD coil packs and wires if that makes a difference.

Just bought the car last week and it seems like its missing a little at idle and its def missing at WOT. So I figure I'll change the plugs and all the fluids just so I have a nice baseline of where the car is.

Tabres

Not without incident
Established Member
The most recommended plug for a mild bolt-on, N/A car tends to be Autolite 764's with a gap of .054.

Personally, I'm going to bet it's the MSD coil-packs, though. They're somewhat notorious for poor performance and causing a miss. I would replace them with factory Ford replacement coil-packs.

Last edited:

THE RED 1

Wake up, piss excellence
Established Member
I use ngk tr-6's or tr-55 gapped at .035-.040 Im COP swapped using motorcraft coils. OEM> NOT OEM

THE RED 1

Wake up, piss excellence
Established Member
There's no need to run less than the stock 0.054" gap on a mild NA setup.[/QUOTE

Its funny cause I used to gap them at about .050 or so then one of my buddies swore up and down that's to big and recommended .035 so I gave that a shot LOL

i8urSS

Established Member
Thanks for all the info.

Are the coil packs the same on the GT and Cobra and when I replace them do I need to reset the computer or get it retuned or anything like that?

racecougar

MN12 parts guy
Established Member
Thanks for all the info.

Are the coil packs the same on the GT and Cobra and when I replace them do I need to reset the computer or get it retuned or anything like that?