New blower 2.3-2.9 or 3.4 whipple???

98kingcobra

Established Member
I already have a whipple 2.3 1st gen on 22lbs with supporting mods I'm looking to upgrade to a bigger blower my goal is to have 800hp on boost alone or very close to it.. I do not want to go with a bigger blower and sacrifice a lot of tq as I'm afraid I will with a 3.4... What is everyone's opinion? Also I have cp pistons otherwise stock with alittle head work not stroked or bored..

03cobrarocks

Established Member
I am by no means a blower expert, but if you get a 3.4 and run 24+lbs I wouldn't think you would loss lots of torque...

01yellercobra

Established Member
Go with the 3.4. Buddy of mine has one along with pretty much every other mod. He's in the high 700's with room left. And if it's low on torque I didn't notice it from the passenger seat.

Just to add on...my buddies engine is a stock stroke 4.6 with 8.5:1 compression. The heads were ported by Fox Lake and it has Crower cams.

Last edited:

JustaGT5408

Established Member
2.9 with E85 FTW. It is IMO one of the best 'streetable' blowers around, you can Make killer power yet maintain a ton of torque. My numbers in sig are on 21-22psi on a pretty conservative tune (11.0-11.3 AFR) on a hot day. I bought the car from OK where it was tuned on true E85, up here in IA we only get E70 so it runs a little rich. I am putting a different pulley on to hit 24psi or so and getting it re-tuned to bump the AFR up to the 11.7 mark where it should be. There are plenty of guys with 2.9 and E85 hitting well north of the 750rwhp mark though.

Last edited:

SILVER-BULLET

Established Member
I don't think I would make the switch to a 2.9 from a 2.3. That's just my opinion. Unless you were going Crusher on the 2.9.

My 03 Cobra/3.4 Setup Ran 145.8 mph/Made 700+ rear tire on 110, and through a C4. It would pull the wheels on the highway from a roll. Trust me, it had more torque than you could possibly use.